FAT BIKE

When we were looking to go in Asia about a year and half ago, I stumble upon Bikepacking setup which made me dream… We did our 6 months biking in asia on paved road and a few dirt road but our setup was for road touring. Now almost 9 months after beiing back home I have been discussing with my 2 pal bikepacking setup and through those discussion and more searching the FAT BIKE came into focus. Now living in Kuujjuaq, Nunavik in the Quebec province we have a long winter and the FAT BIKES might just be the best option!! After shopping for the perfect FAT BIKE the Surly Moonlander seem like perfect fit for the condition we have… Now Fat biking is becoming so popular that no dealer in Montreal had any in stock!! Now my friend Guillaume spotted the Pug OPS a semi fat bike quite versatile and with tire size 4″ its seems to give more option for summer riding and the 3″ tire are compatible on the this bike. Pug OPS was also sold out and my attention went for the Salsa Mukluk 2 which on top of being available in size medium was also having the same rim, tire size as the Pug OPS. The 2 company seems to be own by the same owner and so many parts travel between both company. The shifters quality is little lower than the Surly Pug OPS and a few less attachment on the front and rear fork but the lower tube can take a extra bottle or gas canister which is a must for me.

Image

After landing in Kuujjuaq sunday I open the box and assemble it together in order to get a first ride in the ski-doo trail around the neighborhood and this bike is AWESOME!! It just float like nothing else I have ever seen!! I am still the playing around with the tire pressure to find out the perfect amount of air for me but yet I could not be more happy!!!

Leave a Reply

